Jaundice

5 years ago today a hospital Dr. said “give your baby formula to get rid of this jaundice, we don’t know how much milk you have.” My reply: I’ll be back in 15min. I returned with 4oz of pumped breastmilk. Does this answer your question? Chupps, he has jaundice because my babies require sunlight not artificial light. The Dr. said “give him the milk from the bottle so we can record his intake.” I said no bottles, breast, count his diapers and weigh him. Dr. said to the nurse “these are my orders” and ignored me till she found out who my Mama is. I camped out at the hospital nursery for 6 days, leaving only 2 hours a day. Just in case I made sure there was plenty breastmilk available in my absence. The nurses respected my wishes and would hold my son till I returned to nurse him. Even in an allopathic, dysfunctional, narcissistic institution you can find allies.

 

By birthingbliss

Leave a Reply

